Navigation Menu
  • Country / Area: Switzerland
  • Date Posted: Nov 11, 2017

Switzerland comprises four main linguistic and cultural regions: German, French, Italian and Romansh. Due to its linguistic diversity, Switzerland is known by a variety of native names: Schweiz  (German); Suisse (French); Svizzera (Italian); and Svizra (Romansh). On coins and stamps, Helvetia (Latin) is used instead of the four living languages.

Bern: Der Chly Prinz, in Bernese German, an Alemannic Swiss German dialect.

Basel: Dr Gläi Brinz, in a local Basel dialect of Alemannic Swiss German.

Fribourg: Le Piti Prinhyo, in Franco-Provençal (Arpitan) Canton of Fribourg dialect.

Lausanne: Lo Pitit Prinço, in Franco-Provençal (Arpitan) Canton of Vaud dialect.

Valais: Der Chlii Prinz, in Walser German language, spoken in a part of Switzerland (Valais, Ticino, Grisons), Italy (Piedmont, Aosta Valley), Liechtenstein, and Austria (Vorarlberg).